Monday January 17, 2022

New COVID variant

Govt urges people to avoid travelling to 5 African countries

Published : 27 Nov 2021, 00:47

Updated : 28 Nov 2021, 20:38

  DF Report

Helsinki Airport. File Photo: Finavia.

The Finnish government on Friday urged the people to avoid travelling to South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho following detection of new variant of coronavirus.

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs made the guideline in accordance with the recommendation of the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare (THL), said an official press release.

A new variant of COVID-19, known as B.1.1.529, which has numerous mutations to the spike protein, has been detected in South Africa and Botswana.

Due to the mutations, it is feared that the variant may spread effectively.