Monday June 21, 2021

Finnish Science Award goes to Koskenniemi

Published : 02 Jun 2021, 00:40

Updated : 02 Jun 2021, 00:43

  DF Report

Martti Koskenniemi. Photo: University of Helsinki by Linda Tammisto.

The Finnish Science Award 2021 was granted to Martti Koskenniemi, Professor of International Law at the University of Helsinki, said the Ministry of Education and Culture in a press release on Tuesday.

In his research, Koskenniemi brings together in a unique way the practical understanding of international law, emanating from his diplomatic background, with wide-ranging theoretical thinking and critical examination.

Over the past three decades, Koskenniemi has significantly influenced the theoretical discussion in the field of international law.

Martti Koskenniemi (born in 1953) is one of the founders and Director of the Eric Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights at the University of Helsinki (since 1997). He served as Academy Professor in 2005–2009 and 2013–2017.

“At a time when the principle of ‘might is right’ seems to prevail in international relations and world politics, it has become more imperative than ever before to resolve issues by means of international law. Since Koskenniemi’s work is broad-based, he has been able to focus on questions that have been overlooked within the traditional doctrine of international law. Koskenniemi’s examination shows that international law can easily limited to being an instrument of power politics or utopian idealism,” said Minister of Science and Culture Antti Kurvinen.

Minister Kurvinen presented the award at the Science Forum held on Tuesday.

The Finnish Science Award is granted to a Finland-based researcher or research group in recognition of significant scientific achievements. The award is granted by the Ministry of Education and Culture based on the proposal of the Board of the Academy of Finland.

The Science Award, which amounts to EUR 100,000, was established in 1987 and is granted every second year. This was the thirteenth time it was awarded, taking place during the Science Forum. This year, the Science Forum forms part of the national Year of Research-Based Knowledge.