Saturday June 15, 2024

76th Cannes Film Festival unveils jury list

Published : 04 May 2023, 22:58

  DF News Desk
Photo taken on April 5, 2018 shows the Palais des Festivals where Cannes International Series Festival is held in Cannes, France. File Photo: Xinhua.

The 76th edition of the Cannes Film Festival unveiled on Thursday the nine members of the main competition jury, reported Xinhua.

Swedish director Ruben Ostlund, two-time winner of the Palme d'Or, will be the jury's president. He won the highest prize awarded at the Cannes Festival with The Square in 2017 and with Triangle of Sadness in 2022.

All members of the jury are Cannes regulars, such as Moroccan director Maryam Touzani, British-Zambian screenwriter and director Rungano Nyoni, and Argentinian director and screenwriter Damian Szifron.

Two French filmmakers will also be on the jury: actor Denis Menochet and director Julia Ducournau. The latter won the Palme d'Or in 2021 with the film Titane, becoming the first female director to win the top prize solo.

Academy Awarding-winning American actress and director Brie Larson and American actor Paul Dano, along with Afghan author Atiq Rahimi, are all asked by the organizers to help choose the top prize-winning film.

The jury will award the Palme d'Or to one of the 21 films in competition, the organizers said.

This year's event will be held between May 16 and May 27. The winners will be announced at the festival's closing ceremony.