Entry restrictions reinstated for Belgium, Netherlands, Andorra

06 Aug 2020, 23:44

  DF Report

File Photo by Finavia.

The government on Thursday decided to reinstate inbound travel restrictions on the Netherlands, Belgium, and Andorra, following the increasing trend of coronavirus infections in these countries, said a government press release.

The reinstated restrictions will come into force from 10 August.

The government considers that the use of the alternative limit value is justified in case of Germany and Denmark. In these countries, the number of incidences of coronavirus infection is likely to have increased momentarily due to local clusters of the disease.

The situation must be reassessed if the incidence rate clearly exceeds the limit value.

Earlier, the government lifted the travel restrictions imposed on Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Italy, Greece, Liechtenstein, Malta, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Cyprus, Ireland, San Marino, the Vatican, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

In so far as external border control continues, the accepted criteria for entry are the return of persons living in Finland or in another EU or Schengen country and other essential reasons.

At the external borders, an established intimate personal relationship is also considered an essential reason for entry. At the internal borders, this may alternatively be a close personal relationship.

Restrictions on neighbouring Sweden, however, remain in place.