Thursday, 17 October, 2019

Available For Posting Ad

Fortum opens first e-charging station in India

04 Oct 2017, 23:07 ( 04 Oct, 2017) | updated: 05 Oct 2017, 11:56 ( 05 Oct, 2017)

DF Report
Minister for Housing, Energy and the Environment Kimmo Tiilikainen was speaking at the inaugural ceremony. Photo Source Fortum.

The first charging station for electric vehicles built by Fortum was opened in New Delhi, India on Wednesday.

Minister for Housing, Energy and the Environment Kimmo Tiilikainen, who is now visiting India was present on the occasion, said a government press release.

“I am delighted that the best technology expertise of Finnish companies and the sustainable solutions they offer have now been exported to India,” said the minister while inaugurating the station.

“What I see here is an excellent opportunity to utilise the technology expertise of Finnish companies in support of sustainable growth in the Indian economy and in the energy sector,” Tiilikainen added.

According to the Memorandum of Understanding signed by Fortum and NBCC, an undertaking under the Ministry of Urban Development of India, Fortum will participate in the planning and implementation of projects concerning charging systems for electric vehicles in India. The aim is to open 150 similar charging stations within the next 12 to 18 months.

During his visit in India, Tiilikainen is accompanied by a business delegation of 21 companies representing the energy, environmental technology, bioeconomy, cleantech and technology sectors.

The companies, led by the Minister, also participated in two business seminars organised by the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry FICCI, one in Lucknow and one in New Delhi.

During the visit Finland will showcase its competence in the energy sector, in particular, in renewable energy technologies, circular economy, smart networks, smart transport and charging systems, smart cities, and energy use and recycling of waste.

Tiilikainen will also meet ministers representing the relevant sectors in the Government of India and the Government of the state of Uttar Pradesh, the press release added.